College DVC Scholarship for Bright Engineering Student

Mr Dhiven Naidoo, a young and brilliant BSc in Mechanical Engineering student, was awarded the College Deputy Vice-Chancellors (DVC) Scholarship for his outstanding academic performance. This Scholarship is awarded to the three top-ranked undergraduate students proceeding from second to subsequent years of study in each of the four colleges at the University. This award recognises

Passion for Science Earns Tejmé Saien the Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship

Mr Tejmé Saien’s love for science started early in his life and has always found it easy to navigate his way through his studies. In his matric year, 2016, he was awarded a certificate from the National Research Foundation (NRF) and the South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA) for being one of

Frene Ginwala Scholarship for Young Scientist

Ms Zamakhabazela Nosihle Mkhize is a young woman from KwaZulu-Natal who attended Pietermaritzburg Girl’s High School where she realised her passion for matters concerning the environment. This led her to enrol for a BSc Life and Earth Sciences stream majoring in Microbiology and Hydrology at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Her academic excellence has led her

Zac Yacoob Scholarship Award for Aspiring Astrophysicist

Mr Dalian Sunder, a BSc Applied Mathematician and Physics graduate, received the Zac Yacoob Scholarship Award at this year’s annual Scholarship Awards ceremony. Youngest in his family, Mr Sunder recollects how his interest in outer-space blossomed to his passion for Maths and Physics during high school. At a tender age, Mr Sunder would spend hours

A Dream Come True Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship Recipient

Mr Ntobeko Cele, a former Menzi High School learner who grew up in one of South Africa’s biggest townships UMlazi. He has always heard of the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) and was actious to finally join this university after he completed his matric. Ntobeko enrolled for a BSc Comuter Science and IT. It was during

Talent Equity and Excellence Scholarship for Aspiring Academic and Biologist

Ms Simangele Msweli from the School of Life Sciences is the recipient of the Talent Equity and Excellence Acceleration Scholarship, which is awarded to Black South African students who have achieved academic excellence and aim for a career in academia. ‘I feel very honoured since this award recognises the commitment I’ve put into academia and identifies me

Prestige Sports Scholarship for Top Volleyball Athlete

Ms Hannah Davidson has received the Prestige Sports Scholarship award for her outstanding achievement in sports. Davidson, who plays volleyball, is currently studying towards a BSc degree in Microbiology and Genetics. She attended primary school at Surrey Christian School in Canada; then attended a high school in Northern Namibia before finishing her high school journey

Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship for High Achiever

Outstanding high achiever and first-year Electronic Engineering student Mr Timothy Hardman is the proud recipient of the prestigious Malegapuru William Makgoba Scholarship awarded annually to the top five undergraduates proceeding from first to second year of study in each of the University’s four Colleges. Having always been fascinated by creating and building things, Hardman has

Fine Balance Results in Prestige Sports Scholarship Award

Mr Phelelani Zuma, a player for the Sharks under 19 rugby team and first-year Property Development student, is the recipient of the UKZN Prestige Sports Scholarship awarded for outstanding achievement in sports at international, national or provincial levels. Zuma, who is originally from Pietermaritzburg where he attended Maritzburg College, is making a name for himself

College Deputy Vice-Chancellors’ Scholarship Award for Budding Scientist

Ms Mishka Essop, a student in the School of Life Sciences, has received the College Deputy Vice-Chancellors’ Scholarship Award, a scholarship that has enabled her to continue her studies. The College Deputy Vice-Chancellors’ Scholarship awards- which recognise top performance over two or more years of undergraduate study- are awarded to the three top ranked undergraduates