College of Agriculture, Engineering
and Science (CAES)

Meet the team

The Teaching and Learning team is made up of dedicated individuals who work tirelessly to ensure that our students are on the path of academic excellence and promote professional development among academic staff.

Take a look at who’s a part of our team and how to contact them.

Dean of Teaching & Learning

Prof Naven Chetty

Prof Naven Chetty

+27 (0) 33 260 5717
chettyn3@ukzn.ac.za

Dean of Teaching and Learning

Ms Velda Opperman

Ms Velda Opperman

+27 (0) 33 260 5717
oppermanv@ukzn.ac.za

PA to Dean of Teaching and Learning:

Academic Leaders of Teaching & Learning (ALTL)

Dr Absalom Ezugwu

Dr Absalom Ezugwu

+27 (0) 33 260 6584
EzugwuA@ukzn.ac.za

ALTL: Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science

Prof Jules-Raymond Tapamo

Prof Jules-Raymond Tapamo

+27 (0) 31 260 2751
Tapamoj@ukzn.ac.za

ALTL: Engineering

Prof Andre Vosloo

Prof Andre Vosloo

+27 (0) 31 260 1337
vosloo@ukzn.ac.za

ALTL: Life Sciences

Prof Susanna Maria Kassier

Prof Susanna Maria Kassier

+27 (0) 31 260 5431
Kassiers@ukzn.ac.za

ALTL: Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr Brenda Moodley

Dr Brenda Moodley

+27 (0) 31 260 2796
Moodleyb3@ukzn.ac.za

ALTL: Chemistry and Physics

Academic development officers (ADO)

Howard College

Mr Godfrey Marumure

Mr Godfrey Marumure

+27 (0) 31 260 2781
Marumureg@ukzn.ac.za

ADO: Engineering

Pietermaritzburg

Mr Ashwin Manival

Mr Ashwin Manival

+27 (0) 33 260 5026
ManivalA@ukzn.ac.za

ADO: Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences; Chemistry and Physics

Ms Khethukuthula Nozipho Hlalukane

Ms Khethukuthula Nozipho Hlalukane

+27 (0) 33 260 6396
HlalukaneK1@ukzn.ac.za

ADO: Life Sciences; Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science

Westville

Dr Boby Varghese

Dr Boby Varghese

+27 (0) 31 260 1592
varghese@ukzn.ac.za

ADO: Life Sciences

Dr Dalia Varghese

Dr Dalia Varghese

+27 (0) 31 260 8392
varghesed@ukzn.ac.za

ADO: Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science

Mr Rogerant Tshibangu

Mr Rogerant Tshibangu

+27 (0) 31 260 7747
Tshibangur@ukzn.ac.za

ADO: Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences; Chemistry and Physics

College Academic Services

Mrs Tracy Govender

+27 (0) 31 260 7434
Govendert10@ukzn.ac.za

College Manager: Academic Services

Mrs Denise O’Reilly

+27 (0) 31 260 3847
oreilly@ukzn.ac.za

Principal Academic Admin Officer - HC

Mrs Loveness Ndlovu

+27 (0) 33 260 5184
ndlovul@ukzn.ac.za

Principal Academic Admin Officer – PMB

Mr Sihle Siyanda Khuzwayo

+27 (0) 31 260 3302
khuzwayoss@ukzn.ac.za

Principal Academic Admin Officer – WVL