College of Agriculture, Engineering
and Science (CAES)

College Management

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Head of College

Professor Albert Modi is currently the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Head of the College of Agriculture Engineering & Science. He has been the Dean and Head of School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences from 2011 – 2016. He was employed by the then University of Natal in 1996 and has been associated with UKZN since then. Before joining the University, he was provincial agronomist for PHI-Hibred International, a job that exposed him to the agronomy and rural development issues.

Prof Albert Modi

Prof Albert Modi

Contact via PA/ Secretary
shingan@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 5199

View profile

Deans and Heads of School

Prof Ademola Olaniran

Prof Ademola Olaniran

School of Life Sciences
Olanirana@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 1545

View profile
Prof Neil Koorbanally

Prof Neil Koorbanally

Research
Koorbanally@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 3189

View profile
Prof Glen Bright

Prof Glen Bright

School of Engineering
Brightg@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 1275

View profile
Prof Naven Chetty

Prof Naven Chetty

Teaching & Learning
ChettyN3@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 5717

Prof Fhatuwani Mudau

Prof Fhatuwani Mudau

School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences
MudauF@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 6076

Prof Ross Robinson

Prof Ross Robinson

School of Chemistry and Physics
RobinsonR@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 6223

View profile
Prof Serestina Viriri

Prof Serestina Viriri

School of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
viriris@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 7724

View profile

Managers

Divison Managers

Mr Mandla Mdhluli

Mr Mandla Mdhluli

Finance
mdhlulim@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 6983

School Operations Managers

Mrs Antoinette Botha

Mrs Antoinette Botha

School of Chemistry and Physics
Bothaa2@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 5667/ 7992

Dr Sally Frost

Dr Sally Frost

Public Relations
Frosts@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 7642

Mrs Jacquie Whyte

Mrs Jacquie Whyte

School of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
whytej2ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 7721

Mrs Shelley Barnsley

Mrs Shelley Barnsley

Student Support Services
Barnsley@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 7565

Ms Lindiwe Shange

Ms Lindiwe Shange

School of Life Sciences
shangel3@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 1178

Mrs Shereen Balkisson

Mrs Shereen Balkisson

Human Resources
balkisson@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 6229

Mr Rajen Peter

Mr Rajen Peter

School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences
peter@ukzn.ac.za | 033 260 6075

Ms Tracy Govender

Ms Tracy Govender

Academic Services
Govendert10@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 7434

Mr Ronal Thakurpersad

Mr Ronal Thakurpersad

School of Engineering
thakurpersada@ukzn.ac.za | 031 260 1229