College of Agriculture, Engineering
and Science (CAES)

General Student Support

Agriculture, Earth & Environmental Sciences

  • Ashwin Manival
    • 033 260 5026
    • manivala@ukzn.ac.za
    • Pietermaritzburg campus


Chemistry & Physics

  • Rogerant Tshibangu 
    • 031 260 7747 
    • tshibangur@ukzn.ac.za
    • Westville campus

       

  • Ashwin Manival
    • 033 260 5026
    • manivala@ukzn.ac.za
    • Pietermaritzburg campus


Engineering 

  • Godfrey Marumure
    • 031 260  2781
    • marumureg@ukzn.ac.za
    • Howard College


Life Sciences 

  • Boby Varghese
    • 031 260 1592 
    • varghese@ukzn.ac.za
    • Westville campus
       
  • Nozipho Hlalukane
    • 031 260 6393
    • hlalukanek1@ukzn.ac.za
    • Pietermaritzburg campus


Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Sciences

  • Dalia Varghese
    • 031 260 8392
    • varghesed@ukzn.ac.za
    • Westville campus
  • Nozipho Hlalukane
    • 031 260 6393
    • hlalukanek1@ukzn.ac.za
    • Pietermaritzburg campus


 

ADO Responsibilities:

  • Implement and monitor academic support programs; such as supplemental instructions (SI), hot seat, and mentorship.
  • Evaluate pass rates for individual courses so as to identify risk courses which require support program, such as SI.
  • Recruit, and train tutors and SI leaders for the above programs.
  • Provide academic counselling to students (one-on-one meetings or through workshops).
  • Evaluate students’ performance and identify those students at risk, and arrange meetings with them to provide counselling.
  • Analyze students’ performance after exams, and evaluate the significance of support programs.
  • Gather information from Class Representatives and address any teaching problems with the lecturers

Howard College

  • Ms Heather Singh (Helpdesk)
    • Room 342, 3rd floor, Desmond Clarence
    • Aessupport@ukzn.ac.za
    • 033 260 5695

  • Ms Prashna Singh
    • Room 345, 3rd floor, Desmond Clarence
    • Singhp3@ukzn.ac.za
    • 031 260 1455

  • Ms Ronelle Msomi
    • Room 344, 3rd floor, Desmond Clarence
    • Msomir1@ukzn.ac.za
    • 031 260 1594

  • Ms Lala Domelo (Intern Counselling Psychologist)
    • Room 329, 3rd floor, Desmond Clarence (Monday, Friday)
    • laladomleo@yahoo.com
    • 031 260 2635
    •  

Pietermaritzburg campus

  • Ms Heather Singh (Helpdesk)
    • PMB Campus
    • Aessupport@ukzn.ac.za
    • 033 260 5695

  • Ms Shelley Barnsley
    • Room 1, Ground floor, Admin
    • Barnsley@ukzn.ac.za
    • 033 260 5697

  • Ms Rossella Meusel
    • Room 3, Ground floor, Admin
    • meuselr@ukzn.ac.za
    • 033 260 5696
  • Mr Sanele Zuma
    • Room 5, Ground floor, Admin
    • zumas2@ukzn.ac.za
    • 031 260 5709
  • Mr Mzamo Zondi
    • Room 103, 1st floor, Admin Building – PMB (Main Campus)
    • ZondiW1@ukzn.ac.za
    • 033 260 6550
  • Ms Sarah Miller (Intern)
    • Room 115, 1st floor, Admin building – PMB (Main Campus)
      (Monday until 12h00, Wednesday and Friday)
    • millers@ukzn.ac.za
    • 033 260 5795 

 

Westville campus

  • Ms Heather Singh (Helpdesk)
    • Pmb Campus
    • Aessupport@ukzn.ac.za
    • 033 260 5695

  • Ms Kike Adewusi
    • Room 18, 4th floor OR Tambo
    • adewusi@ukzn.ac.za
    • 031 260 2089

  • Ms Nqobile Kweyama
    • Room 16, 4th floor OR Tambo
    • KweyamaN2@ukzn.ac.za
    • 031 260 7158
  • Ms Lala Domelo (Intern Counselling Psychologist)
    • Room 17, 4th floor, OR Tambo – WVL
      (Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday)
    • laladomleo@yahoo.com
    • 031 260 7572


Please consult our website for more information: aessupport.ukzn.ac.za

All students that have been accepted into residence for 2020 will be required to pay a deposit of R2750. 

Howard College

  • Grace Mdhladhla  |  Mdhladhlag@ukzn.ac.za

Pietermaritzburg Campus

  • Mrs Thandi Sibisi  |  sibisit@ukzn.ac.za

Westville Campus

  • Ms Elizabeth Matizamhuka  |  Matizamhuka@ukzn.ac.za

Before vehicles may be parked on campus, parking fees must be paid. Students may log on to rms.ukzn.ac.za and select Online-Forms (Student Parking Discs) to complete their parking applications.

First year students may only apply after acquiring a student card and having it validated for the year.  Payment for parking will automatically be debited from the student account.  A student parking disc is valid for a period of one academic year.  Persons bringing vehicles onto campus are responsible for familiarizing themselves with the current traffic rules, which may be viewed on the RMS website.  Any serious or persistent failure to observe the traffic rules could result in the withdrawal of parking privileges and / or disciplinary action.

The following areas may be used for parking:


Howard College

  • Shepstone Parking Lot (can be accessed through Gate 2 on 75th Anniversary Rd or Gate 8 on Rick Turner / Francois Rd

  • Student Parking on Princess Alice Rd

  • Gate 4 on Francois Rd


Pietermaritzburg Campus

  • Main Campus (returning students only)

  • Commerce Parking (all students)

  • Agriculture (all students)

  • Golf Rd (Post-Grad students only)

  • William O’Brien Parking (all students)


Westville Campus

  • New Students Parking

  • Outer Ring Road Parking

  • Ash Parking

  • K Parking