College of Agriculture, Engineering
and Science (CAES)

Postgraduate

Research Masters and PhD’s

The required 2021 registration fees are as follows:

  • Local students registering for tuition only: R4,000.
  • Local students registering for both tuition and residence: R7,000.
  • International students: 100% of the total tuition and residence fees for 2021. 

Those students who qualify for fee remission must ensure that they are cleared for registration by the student funding section of our College. 

Before registration can commence the following requirements must be fulfilled to register:

  1. Fee remission (qualifying full-time students only) or
  2. Registration fee
  3. International levy (international students only)
  4. International clearance (international students only)
  5. Bursary, Scholarship or Loan documents must be submitted for clearance with Funding Advisors.

 

There will be no on-campus registrations this year.  Registration will only take place online.

Higher Degrees Office 

Howard College

  • Ausie Luthuli
    luthulia@ukzn.ac.za
     
     

Pietermaritzburg campus

  • Jothi Manickum
    manickum@ukzn.ac.za

  • Tamlyn Skye
    skyet@ukzn.ac.za
     

Westville campus

  • Trissica Mohan
    Mohant@ukzn.ac.za

  • Mpho Mkhwanazi
    mkhwanazim@ukzn.ac.za
     

General Contact Details

School of Agricultural, Earth & Environmental Sciences

  • Dr Susanna Kassier                  
  • Rabie Saunders Building, PMB campus
  • kassiers@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 5431


School of Chemistry & Physics

  • Dr Brenda Moodley
  • H Block, Chemistry Building, Westville Campus
  • Moodleyb3@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 2796


School of Engineering

  • Prof Jules Raymond Tapamo
  • Electronic Engineering / UNITE Building, Howard College Campus
  • tapamoj@ukzn.ac.za
  • 031 260 2751/ 1580


School of Life Sciences

  • Prof Andre Vosloo
  • Microbiology, F Block, Level 3, Westville Campus
  • Vosloo@ukzn.ac.za
  • 031 260 1337


School of Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Science

  • Dr Absalom Ezugwu
  • Room 309, Desmond Clarence Building, Howard College 
  • EzugwuA@ukzn.ac.za
  • 031 260 3000

Howard College campus:

  • Ausie Luthuli  |  engineering@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 1668|  Higher Degrees
  • Kagiso Molekwa  |  engineering@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 3218/ 8038
  • Niloshnee Govender  |  engineering@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 7873  |  A – MAG: Higher Degrees
  • Nokuthula Ngcobo |  engineering@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 1220  |  MAH – NGI: Higher Degrees
  • Sphele Mkhwanazi  |  engineering@ukzn.ac.za  |  NGO – Z: Higher Degrees


Pietermartizburg campus:

  • Jabulile Gama  |  sciencepmb@ukzn.ac.za   |  033 260 5195  |  A – MM: UGs and Honours
  • Jothimala Manickum  |  sciencepmb@ukzn.ac.za  |  033 260 5811  |  A – MC: Higher Degrees
  • Tamlyn Rose Skye  |  sciencepmb@ukzn.ac.za   |  033 260 6243  |  MD – Z: Higher Degrees
  • Yeki Gasela  |  sciencepmb@ukzn.ac.za   |  033 260 5195  |  MN – Z: UGs and Honours


Westville campus:

  • Bonga Maphanga  |  sciencewst@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 7979  |  A – K: UGs and Honours
  • Boniwe Nkosi  |  sciencewst@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 8847   |  L – MN: UGs and Honours
  • Dudu Luthuli  |  sciencewst@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 7416  |  MO – NT: UGs and Honours
  • Mpho Mkhwanaz  |  sciencewst@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 2219  |  Chemistry & Physics and Maths, Statistics & Computer Science
  • Samantha Govender  |  sciencewst@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 2349  |  NU – Z: UGs and Honours
  • Trissica Mohan  |  sciencewst@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 3220  |  Agriculture, Earth & Environmental Sciences and Life Sciences