UKZN’s ‘Dr T’ announced a finalist for South Africa’s Science ‘Oscars’

Well-known UKZN personality, Dr Tanja Reinhardt (aka ‘Dr T’), has been announced as a finalist for the prestigious 2018/2019 NSTF-South32 Awards. Reinhardt, who is Coordinator of UKZN’s Science and Technology Education Centre (STEC@UKZN), is a finalist for the NSTF Award for Communication for Outreach and Creating Awareness of SET and innovation. The award recognises a

Online Newsletter – Volume 1, Issue 1

Take a look at our first online newsletter. This is a quarterly overview of activities, events, achievements and news from the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science.

2019 Ukulinga symposium – First announcement

The theme of DEVELOPING RESILIENCE THROUGH PARTNERSHIPS AND COLLABORATION is intended to explore the power of partnerships and collaboration between a wide variety of stakeholders for developing resilience in farming systems, particularly those of smallholder farmers that are vulnerable to a number of threats in an increasingly less predictable world

UKZN Runners Participate in Two Oceans Marathon

Click here for isiZulu version Several UKZN staff members and students ran in the recent 50th Two Oceans Marathon in Cape Town, taking part in the ultra and half marathon events and trail runs. Masters in Statistics student, Ms Nina Grundlingh, said she decided to join her parents in doing the trail run this year to have

CAES Recognises its Top Achievers

Top student achievers in the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science were recognised at the annual College Awards ceremonies on the Pietermaritzburg and Westville campuses. The Westville event honoured outstanding academic achievers in the Schools of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences; Life Sciences; Chemistry and Physics; and Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science. A similar event

Data@breakfast Zooms in on Machine Learning

The aroma of filter coffee welcomed delegates to April’s “data@breakfast” seminar at the Senate Chamber, Westville campus. Speaker, Dr Maria Schuld introduced her diverse audience to the behind-the-scenes world of machine learning. Schuld, who holds Master’s degrees in Political Science (Free University, Berlin) and Physics (Technical University of Berlin), as well as a PhD from

Recognition for Engineering Professor’s Intellectual Property Contributions

Click here for isiZulu version The Department of Science and Technology (DST) has recognised Professor Hongjun Xu from the School of Engineering’s Discipline of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering as the Top Intellectual Property (IP) Creator at UKZN. Xu and awardees from other institutions received Intellectual Property Creators’ Incentives grants from the Minister of Science and Technology, Ms Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane,

UKZN Student Leads Durban Harbour Clean-Up

Refilwe Mofokeng, a UKZN student studying towards a PhD in Marine Biology, responded to the recent flash floods that occurred in Durban and other parts of KwaZulu-Natal over the Easter Weekend by organising a clean-up at the Durban Harbour. This clean-up was driven by the Refilwe Matlotlo Foundation, a non-profit organisation (NPO) that was formed by

Swiss Funding for UKZN Researchers to Improve Food System Resilience

Dr Alfred Odindo of UKZN’s School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Science (SAEES) and Professor Chris Buckley of the Pollution Research Group (PRG) were in Kenya recently to meet with project partners to plan the implementation of a new international research project: The Rural-Urban Nexus: Establishing a Nutrient Loop to Improve City Region Food System Resilience (RUNRES). This project,

UKZN Professor Appointed to IUCN African Elephant Specialist Group

Professor Rob Slotow, a Professor in the School of Life Sciences on the Pietermaritzburg campus, has been appointed as Co-Chair of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) African Elephant Specialist Group (AfESG). The appointment, effective from 1 November 2018, was announced by the President of the IUCN Species Survival Commission (SSC) Dr Jon Paul Rodríguez. Slotow joins fellow co-chair Dr Ben